Self employed, Pro/cons of reg as Ltd company

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After being made redundant, I am now thinking of setting up on my own.
Is there any benefits in regeristing as Ltd company? it's only £20.
But are there really any benefits in doing this?
Pros and Cons if anyone has had good/bad experiences.

Sponsored Links
Why think again about going self employed?
I got made redundant a month ago, I have applied for around 30 jobs since then, all vacancies that I more than match the criteria of which the job description is asking.
Not one proper reply, a few automated ones, fair another some of the closing dates for application have not yet expired, but I ain't holding my breathe!
I am a qualified electrician and also have skills in plastering, rendering, dry-lining and tape jointing systems.
I have a knowledged in plumbing and some minor qualifications in that. Fitting bathrooms, kitchens and tiling is not a problem. I have had involvement in many house renovations.
I also have a vast knowledge and experience in the pre-casting concreting industry.
I have not stopped working since I was made redundant and I currently have four jobs on the go at the moment, I picked up another three jobs yesterday one for kitchen and bathroom installer and another with a property renovation and letting outfit, so that could lead to a bit more, and I have not even advertised or promoted myself in anyway since being made redundant.
The logical step would be to set up myself, I have to declare all my earnings, as this sum will be taken from my notice money that I am due to receive in a couple of month.
It's no brainer!
The thing is are there any benefits to going Ltd, I am aware that a lot credit accounts are limited to a value of around £500 and contracts are also made, waiving the condition that your personal assets can not be touched, so is it worth doing?