1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

separate oven and hob, samsung

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by chrissysmagicbox, 9 Jan 2012.

  1. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi, im here to try and make sure i do not make mistakes. i have a oven which i wired up a few years ago to a cooker switch, so know i am capable to do it. my question is this....... i now have a oven and ceramic hob which i will want to install myself. it is a single cooker switch of course so can i use this product safely to install two seperate cables.( ie Click 45a Easyfit Dual Appliance Outlet Plate)

    i have of course read the leaflet for the hob so far but find it a bit confusing.
    single oven is 6kw
    ceramic hob is 6 kw
    i have a separate wired fuse of course which is 30watts
    cannot remember what cable i have from the old cooker but it will be the appropriate cable for a cooker, but not sure what cables i need for two separate items.
    also should i get a new cooker switch that is fused, the one i have at present is just a on /off switch with extra switch for plug?
    i have just seen another entry which says single oven can be put on a plug and not hard wired, i gather there must be exceptions to this ?
    hope you can understand my question and can help.
    thanks, chrissy :confused:
     
  2. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You new combination comes in at around 28 Amps (assuming cooker switch has a socket) after diversity so 30Amp fuse is okay.
    Your cable size from the cooker switch back to the fuse should be minimum of 6mm2T&E - you could get away with 4mm2 but not knowing your cable run better stick with the larger size.
    From the cooker switch to the cooker outlet plate (Click dual outlet plate) - 6mm2 T&E.
    From the cooker outlet plate to the oven and separate hob - most nowerdays come with cable already attached - if not then check with the manufacturers instructions - probably 4mm2 heat resistant flexi cable should be okay.

    On the assumption you don't have cable running from the current cooker switch to the new cooker outlet plate then this may well be a notifiable job and would also possibly required RCD protection unless said new cable is surface mounted.
     
  3. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi, thanks for your reply, i have since looked up oven instructions and it appears that this can be plugged. so it seems i just have to get the right cable as i dont suppose it is already fitted.
    which leaves me to hard wire the ceramic hob to the oven switch which is a isolated cooker switch as previously installed
    it appears that i should wire with the diagram...1N.
    can you confirm this ?
    any help would be appreciated, thanks chrissy :)
     
  4. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You cannot 'plug in' a 6kw oven. So either the instructions are wrong (it could be referring to european plugs) or the the power rating is incorrect.
    If it is supposed to be plugged in then it must come already equipped with a standard uk plug probably 13Amps.

    Otherwise it is suggested that anything drawing more than 2kw should be on its own dedicated circuit.
     
  5. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for your reply, hmm i shall have to take it out of the box to discover what exactly is there and get back to you.
    i need to find out the correct kw. im wondering if the hob and oven come to 6 kw.
    anyway thanks for all your help and no doubt i will be in touch at a later date. chrissy :) [/img]
     
  6. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi just found out that the oven is 3400w does this make any difference? thanks chris
     
  7. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it will still exceed the capacity of a 13Amp fuse - both oven and hob will need to be hardwired into your dual click plate.
     
  8. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi thanks, yes thought so, both hard wire.
    6mm heat resistant wire from the oven and hob
    into dual plate
    the wire that is already from the cooker switch will go into dual plate
    so it will be,
    2 in from appliances and 1 out to cooker plate switch,


    then the wire from the cooker switch to consumer unit which has a 30amp fuse for a cooker (this is already in place)
    i will not be doing this job yet but think i have understood
    thanks for all your help chrissy :rolleyes:
     
  9. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need 6mm heat resistant cable from the oven and hob - as I said if it is not supplied with the applianes already then the manufacturers instructions should state the size and type of cable required.
    For example your oven at 3.4kw should be 2.5mm heat resistant cable
    and your cooker at 6kw probably 4mm heat reistant cable.
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On a 30A BS 3036?

    Which raises a question- Chrissy - do the instructions for the oven say anything about what size fuse/MCB should be on the circuit?
     
  11. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi thanks so much for your help, i will remember the wire sizes when i do it. no, no wire included with appliances. :) i understand so much more than i did thanks to you. chrissy
     
  12. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Chrissy BAS is raising the issue of current carrying capacity, he is right the 2.5mm has a current carrying capacity of 27Amps.
    So to ensure that the current carrying capacity of the cable always exceed the fuse/MCB 30Amp you will need 4mm cable for both appliances.
    In my experience Samsung oven instructions do not state the MCB/fuse size or cable size, just that it should be sufficient.
     
  13. chrissysmagicbox

    chrissysmagicbox

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi ive tried to put the info on here
    although to be honest im not sure what it all means.
    but i think you all know best
    thanks chrissy :)
     
  14. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    21.75A in free air at a maximum of 30°C on a rewirable fuse.
     
  15. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the terminals are made with the expectation of 1 - 1.5mm² conductors you'll probably not be able to get 4mm² ones in there.

    But as it's a 3.4kW appliance neither can you put in an FCU to allow the use of the smaller size cable. I'm afraid you've bought an example of one of the many many ovens on the market which are designed with the expectation of a 16A circuit to plug into, which is what you find sur le continent.

    To get 4mm² connected you'll probably need to crimp these onto the ends:

    [​IMG]

    Use a crimper like this:

    [​IMG]

    not like this:

    [​IMG]


    Alternatively have a new 16A circuit put in for the oven.


    BTW - you'll find an explanation of H05-RR etc cable types here:

    http://www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:harcode
     
Loading...

Share This Page