Sewage soil pipe length?

Reaction score
Country
Portugal
Hello, I am pretty new to drainage and hoping the experts on here could help us.

We have a house that is lower than the public sewer, we have ordered a pumping station to move the sewage to the main sewer.

At the moment there is an old fossa that just leaks into the soil around the tank, it has also a cracked concrete top and no access cover hence why we are going down the pumping to main sewer route.

We have a large buildings that we are thinking of converting later on so would like to utilise the pumping station for both buildings, to do this I would need to run a 110mm soil pipe or larger if you think I should. This pipe would serve two toilets and two bathrooms plus a kitchen.

My question is what is the maximum length I can run the main pipe from the house to the pumping station, the distance I'm thinking is around 20meters. I can create a fall but unsure what size pipe to use and what fall that size pipe should be.

Many thanks for any help with this.

Wayne

Sponsored Links
110mm will happily cope with a number of dwellings, so will be more than adequate for your proposal. The Pumping station though, needs to be sized with the extra capacity in mind. Should it break down, power failure etc, then it needs to be able to store enough effluent to prevent an overflow/pollution until such a time it can be repaired, or a tanker engaged to empty it.

Distance, as long as you like, provided it's on the correct fall, (1:40 is recommended for 4"/110mm, although you can drop as low as 1:100 if absolutely necessary), with a maximum run of 100m between chambers.

Thank you so much Hugh, a very straight understandable answer, Google doesn't help there's too much information for me to take in.

Yes we sized the pumping station at 1200 litres with dual pumps in case one ever failed. We also have farmers on standby.