Shed/cabin base

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looking at getting one of these glorified sheds (marketed as 'log cabins') to use as a room to get away from things - and somewhere to keep the treadmill.

I'm looking at a 3.5m x 3m wide one.

The current area I have in mind for it isn't ideal - has two old concrete paths running through it (years ago I think there was a greenhouse or two there)

Concrete base will be a nightmare. No access for readymix, pumping is cost prohibitive for me. I can borrow a mixer, but I've never done it before - and I've been told the amount I need to mix will be a killer!

I did think about digging out, putting down some type 1 and compacting and using this as a base. Not sure if I'd need concrete blocks etc as well.

The new plastic shed bases/ground grids are expensive for what they are (to me anyway)

I did however, come across this:

http://www.bitsandlogs.co.uk/accessories-286/log-cabin/raised-timber-base-kit
http://www.bitsandlogs.co.uk/image/NEW-DIRECTORY/Raised_timber_base_kit.jpg

I do have a fair bit of 6x2 and some 4x4 posts left over from a raised deck project and can get hold of postcrete for a decent price. Any thoughts on if this is a viable option?

I imagine there wouldn't be much lateral movement, so posts set in a wide shallower hole might be the order here?

The deck I built has no bounce and has taken a fair bit of weight, so I reckon it would be sturdy enough with my lardy arse on the treadmill once in a blue moon.

My dad, being the kind of guy he is, just said to use the 4x4 posts laid flat as a base, or get some railway sleepers and do the same. Not sure that is a good idea though LOL!

Any thoughts, or am I setting myself up for trouble?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
I just lay concrete blocks on there side then 2"x 3" bearers, job done, simples :D

That's an interesting option.

Breeze blocks or foundation blocks? Would they need bedding down on anything (cement/sand/type 1/other) ?