Shed Foundations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all :)

I'm completely new to building almost anything so I hope someone can help me out.

I am building a 20' x 14' shed in my back garden, truth be told it might be smaller but that's the size I would ideally like.

Not sure if it’s relevant, but my garden has a high clay content

The actual timber shed construction seems to be relatively straight forward as most seem to be constructed the same way. I am though, having some trouble deciding on a foundation. This is what I’ve considered:

(a) Placing the timber joists directly on the ground, but that’s just inviting damp into the shed so it's not really an option.

(b) Digging to a depth of around 4″ and filling with gravel and tamping it all down - the wooden joists lay on top

(c) Placing the wooden joists on top of dense breeze blocks – this seems to be the better choice as it will cost no more than £90 to £100 as I'll need quite a few

(d) Digging to a depth of 4″ in filling with concrete, but ready mixed sends the price up to just over £300

Of them all, even though it's expensive, I'd prefer option (d) as it seems the most straight forward.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks all :)

Sponsored Links
It depends on the state of the ground, D is better as it stops weeds growing under the shed. 4" seems excessive for a wooden shed but the ground must be really well compacted. Its a big shed so I think you will have to spend at least a whole day compacting and rolling the surface until it is smooth and shiney. You also want keep an eye on the level as you don't want your lump of concrete to turn into a swimming pool, its best if it at least a few inches above the general level.