Sherlock Holmes needed for Dr Watson - ecoTEC plus 428

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am trying to understand the root cause of my radiators getting lukewarm at best.

I have an ecoTEC plus 428. It doesn’t display any fault codes, but it spends most of its time with the boiler off, displaying a blinking radiator. Seemingly, as a consequence, my radiators never get more than lukewarm.

My understanding is that the blinking radiator icon indicates that it is waiting for the temperature of the flow water to fall to a value that allows the boiler to restart without risking overheating.

I am a complete noob, so forgive my Dr Watson type attempts to resolve the mystery by gathering some facts and considering bits of evidence. Is there a Sherlock Holmes out there who can come to my rescue?

Looking in the diagnostics table I see that d.5 is the flow temperature target value. In my case this is set to 71 degrees (how this is determined and set, I don’t know and I am not sure it matters).

d.40 is the Flow Temperature – Actual Value

d.41 is the Return Temperature – Actual Value

So, taking my very simple-minded approach, I would expect the boiler to run until d.40 approaches or equals d.5 – in my case 71 degrees, at which point the boiler would moderate itself and if it went over-temperature, shutdown and wait until the temperature fell sufficiently to allow the boiler to restart safely.

I think this should happen relatively smoothly maintaining a constant flow of hot water through the central heating pump and radiators, until the radiators/thermostat stop calling for heat.

In my case, this is what happens –

1. The boiler runs, the radiator icon is solid, and the temperature displays 72.

2. d.40 rises rapidly to 71/2 degrees and the outflow from the central heating pump immediately gets hot.