Shower Not Functioning - Apparent Voltage Drop...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone

Was wondering if anyone may be able to shed some light on a problem a friend is having with their shower. Before I start, I am a building surveyor, so I am well aware of the Building Regs and Part P - my friend and I don't plan on doing any work, but I said I would mention on here and was hoping for a bit more background information if possible.

Basically, a 9kW shower is not working - the 50A pull switch appears to be ok - when the cord is pulled, the neon light glows, however, when the shower 'on' switch is pressed (or a multimeter placed on the load terminals to check voltage), the neon light dims significantly and the shower doesn't turn on.

Using a basic multimeter, we have tested the supply to the switch which seems fine. However, on the load supply of the switch and at the shower choc block there is a large drop in power (power here seems to be around 25V) - why would this be? At first I thought it could just be the switch but why would there be such a large drop in power? Could it be a faulty cable between the switch and the shower? Also, apparently the switch has been replaced several times before (surely they don't fail that often), but I am concerned something more sinister is happening! Another point to mention, the DB was replaced - the shower is on a 32A breaker which I believe is significantly bellow what it should be (9kW @ 240v = 37.5A?), however, it has not been tripping the MCB. To be honest, I am concerned with the whole state of the installation... the DB was replaced by a local electrician (DB only, not wiring which is approx. 25 years old and overdue a serious check / renewal anyway ), surprise surprise no certs...

Anyway if anyone has any suggestions (other than getting the whole installation checked by a qualified electrician which I am going to say tomorrow) then I'd be interested to hear.

Thanks

Sponsored Links