1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Sky Q and router problems, what can be done with Colvid?

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by ericmark, 29 Mar 2021.

  1. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have been loosing broad band, and the link from main Q box to satellite boxes, and now the main box also seems to have a problem with pixelated picture.

    Phones Sky who are sending some one out, but not allowed in the house, so can't really see how he is going to fix it.

    The dish is assessed from the veranda normally through the house, and the problem is solved if we reboot either router of sky boxes, but will return a few days latter.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,786
    Thanks Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's no reason why an installer can't come in to the house so long as social distancing rules are followed. I'll put it another way; if it's safe to mingle in a supermarket so long as the rules are followed then being in someone's home offers no greater risk.

    Here is an extract from the document published by the Welsh government regarding tradespeople coming to do work in someone's home. This includes repair work:


    Source: Guidance for working in other people’s homes



    If Sky are saying he's not allowed then that's their decision which they are entitled to make. They have a duty of care to their employees. However, if you are suffering a disruption to the service that you pay for then I think you're entitled to discuss with Sky how they intend to compensate you financially for the failure of the equipment you are renting from them.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Like Like x 2
  4. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well the guy arrived, and did come into the house, he seemed to think the problem was the due frequency for broad band and some TV's set to always on and some set to auto turn to stand-by so set up all TV mini boxes the same, and left with as it turned out no improvement, so another guy due on Thursday.

    Being fair intermittent fault, both broadband and sky Q will fail, then couple minutes latter OK again, I would suspect a router fault, but we will see.
     
  5. opps

    opps

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    5,090
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sky should be able to tell you how often the router loses a connection. Failing that you should be able to enter the logs of the MODEM/router.

    I would recommend that you remover the face plate from the primary box (google NT5e). Then plug the modem directly in to that. Doing so will eliminate the possibility of any fault being related to your internal wiring. The downside is that you won't be able to make any phone calls etc for the duration. If the broadband continues to fall over, you know it is a network issue (read: their problem).

    I don't have Sky but a while back a customer had a problem with their TV no longer talking to their Sky router. She called me in after Sky's telephone help desk failed to fix it. I started off by using my phone as a MODEM. The TV was happy to use my phone to connect to the internet but still wouldn't talk to her Sky MODEM.

    In the end, I went in to the Sky router config page and set the TV as a fixed IP address. To do that I had to find the MAC address of the TV from its own config menu. Whilst not directly related to your problem, I would recommend setting static routes rather than hoping that the TVs will automatically be assigned a dynamic IP address from the router.

    Typically, Sky routers use the admin address of 192.168.0.1 try setting each of the Tv's static IP addresses to 192.168.0.100, 192.168.0.101 etc. The IP addresses are typically doled out on a "lease" basis. If the router doesn't see a device (TV, phone, etc) for a couple of days it fress up the IP address and gives it to the next device that tries to connect.

    I think the WIFI channel used by your devices/router is unlikely to be the issue but you can download a wifi analyser to your PC/phone etc to see if lots of neighbour are using the same channel number.

    I hope the above makes sense, if not, post back. As I said, I don't have much experience with working with their products but I have experienced glitches more than once.
     
  6. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sky guy fitted a repeater, but fault remains, he seemed to thing down to telephone cable in the main, and I need openreach to move it. We need to fit extra sockets where we want router at other side of house I think, then call openreach, clear damage to cable and where the router is now feed is from an extension lead.

    Yes makes some sense, I did do a course in collage years ago about hubs, routers and switches, but a long time ago, I was only 60 then, and sure things have changed in last 10 years.

    What I am not sure about, is the fault with the Nest Mini or sky wifi? Or simply asking too much?

    Seems likely either power supply, or phone line, but I would have thought either would cause loss of signal for 2 or 3 minutes, and it seems I lose it for 30 seconds or less, so once I was indecisive, now not so sure.
     
  7. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    18,270
    Thanks Received:
    1,856
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :LOL::LOL::LOL:
     
  8. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Kettering, Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Too many people in your close area using wifi??
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page