Slow ADSL. Microfilters?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been using a router to connect to ADSL for a couple of years. If I take it to a friends house on another exchange, I get the same connection speed as his kit, around 2.5M downstream.

On my line I get today 160k!!!!! This is worse than yesterday which was 224k. I have just reset the connection as suggested by Demon.

Do the microfilters have any effect on this? Filters here claim to offer improved performance, but with all filters I have tried, I have seen no difference.

Is there any common speed problem around?

The computer is a G5 Mac running OSX 10.4

Sponsored Links
If you think your microfilters are to blame, disconnect them all and see if the speed improves. If it does, replace them one at a time until the problem comes back, and that'll be the faulty one.

All microfilters do is remove the high frequency ADSL signal from the phone line so that phones work without interference.

oilman, does your router provide attenuation and SNR figures? If so, what are values at the moment?

Physical factors to consider are:

1. Quality of termination at the telephone sockets.
2. Quality of line between exchange and your house.
3. Distance from exchange to your house.
4. Any 'dead leg' extensions inside the house.

An experiment worth doing is to take a known good microfilter (e.g. from your friends house) and connect that at the master socket, with all other extensions disconnected. If you still get a low bit rate then the problem is upstream of your master socket, and you can ask the ISP to get BT in to fault-find it.

If you get a high bit rate at the master socket, then re-attach extensions one by one until it degrades.

BTW, @ the other poster, microfilters are two-fold - to provide a clean ADSL signal and to crackle-free telephony.