Small van and trailer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a landscaper and I'm looking at buying a van and trailer.

I won't need to tow the trailer very often, but when I do I will need to pull about 2Tonne of sand/rubble.

Obviously I will need something reasonably powerful like 1.9, or 2.0 litre I guess?

Would something like a VW Caddy 1.9 do the job? I only want a small van really, not a transit or one of the larger vans.

Any help appreciated.

Sponsored Links
The problem is not so much the power as the weight, 2 tons is considerably more than the weight of the towing vehicle, you need to check the max towing weight of the vehicle, also I believe to carry two tons you need a braked trailer.

Peter

A braked trailer? I guess a trailer with its own brakes?

Probably more expensive to buy, are there any other drawbacks?

Yes, I would think so unless you can get a secondhand bargain but you might find its illegal to tow that much weight with a small light van as well as not being very safe.

These are the figures for the C5, vehicle weight 2,000kg app

Max towing weight 750kg unbraked 2000kg braked.

So it would seem that the max towing weight is equal to the vehicle weight which in the case of a small van would probably be about 1000-1500kg

Peter

Sponsored Links
Buy whatever vehicle will serve the purpose you want it to 95% of the time.

Hire the appropriate vehicle for the job (flat bed Transit?) whenever you need to do something out of the ordinary.

No point buying and paying running costs, insurance etc on something which is bigger and more expensive than you need on a day to day basis.

I don't know how old you are or when you passed your test, but check you can actually tow such a big trailer legally.
Maximum Gross Train Weight (ie gross(max) weight of both tow vehicle and trailer) is 3.5tonnes if you passed your test after (April IIRC) 1997