1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Smart Thermostat

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Rod2808, 21 Nov 2019.

Tags:
  1. Rod2808

    Rod2808

    Joined:
    10 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I've bought thermostat that either doesn't have or I can't find a wiring diagram, it looks straightforward but it's not something I'm familiar with. Any help would be much appreciated. It's a Moes bht-002-gclw.
    My current timer/programmer is a Hortsmann Channel Plus H17XL:
    IMG_20191121_204313.jpg
    Left to right wires are earth, N, L, then numbered 1-6, black wire is in number 4.
    Red wire connects L to 5.
    This is the wiring diagram from current programmer if it's useful.
    Screenshot_20191110-231412_2.png
    New thermostat:
    15743699100817916200797039582658.jpg
    I don't know which wire goes in 1 as 2 compared with the old box. Any help/explanation would be great.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    22,700
    Thanks Received:
    9,118
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Neutral from existing in to 3 on your new stat
    Live into 4 on your new stat
    a link between Live and 1 on your new stat
    And the black wire on 4 to 2 in your new stat
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Rod2808

    Rod2808

    Joined:
    10 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Worked perfectly.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Helen Cook

    Helen Cook

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same new thermostat but different old one. Please tell me where wires need to go if you don’t mind. Many thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Helen Cook

    Helen Cook

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    found info on different thread guys. So happy to have heating again!!!!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,365
    Thanks Received:
    2,187
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just as an FYI, it’s sometimes better to start a new thread, a reason being is, not everyone reads how old a thread is.
     
    Last edited: 30 Jan 2020
  8. glenncraig

    glenncraig

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I’m having a problem with my ability to fit the same thermostat. My old thermostat only has 3 wires one of which is an earth. I would start a new thread but I can’t find how to. upload_2020-1-30_21-0-11.jpeg
    This is my old thermostat upload_2020-1-30_21-0-58.jpeg
    This is my new one. How do I wire this one up? Many many thanks in advance
     
  9. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,365
    Thanks Received:
    2,187
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure on that one, as you have no neutral ( if you try and look at wiring or remove old stat ) it may be hidden.

    Also starting a new thread ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sponsored Links
  11. glenncraig

    glenncraig

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick reply. I see now and can start a new thread cheers. I’ll pull the old stat off tomorrow and have a look. So much for a five minute job like I told the wife.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    22,700
    Thanks Received:
    9,118
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But she married you anyway big boy
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. makumgav

    makumgav

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi , i also have bought a moes wifi thermo, here is my two together, the existing one on top has 4 wires, L and N, which is easy , the bottom two are the one i cannot figure out, I put the brown in L1(1) and the blue in N1 (2), but the boiler wont switch on when i turn the temp up ??. I spun them round and the digital lights on boiler wont turn on , so i guess thats not the right way .....iv saw someone say to branch 1 and 4 ??. is this what i need to do ??, any help would be appreciated ..Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  14. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    5,377
    Thanks Received:
    1,098
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please start a new thread, your existing stat is completely different from the ones in this thread.
     
  15. makumgav

    makumgav

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would but im new to this , and dont know how to ...sorry
     
  16. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,365
    Thanks Received:
    2,187
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Select sub-forum or where you would like to post question, eg plumbing and heating, then there’s should be an orange tab with the words “post new thread”.
     
  17. makumgav

    makumgav

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok , cheers , for next time :D
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page