Smart/WiFi controlled Radiator Valves... self-build controller?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just started looking into smart systems, so far only the Honeywell evohome range which appears quite nice. I like the idea of a TRV on each radiator which can be controlled remotely, basically... scheduling and so on is great but simply being able to turn them on/off on the phone would be the key thing.

Are there products out there that let me make my own control software? Which I suppose is like saying are there open standards/protocols any big players use for integrating systems together (smart home, IoT) or do they use secret proprietary protocols to force you to buy all their own controllers, subscribe to their platform, etc?

I'm a software developer by trade so I can see the idea of a micro-server or Raspberry Pi controlling my smart TRVs and anything else I can think of.
Can anyone help me get started with a little idea of what's available, how amenable it is to DIY efforts, etc?

Sponsored Links
For the evohome there is some API knocking around and some existing development done so that users can get the data from the evohome controller and integrate into their home automation software. I don't think you can directly send command to TRV's, controllers etc... but with the data you grab you can then send requests to IFTTT to do some action based on your own servers schedule/config.

Couple of links from a thread I used to monitor:

http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbul...ecoded-EvoHome-API-access-to-control-remotely
https://github.com/watchforstock/evohome-client
https://github.com/Infern1/evohome-munin

I saw the app supports IFTTT though I only just twigged what that was :) I guess this allows quite an open, programmable approach depending what triggers/actions/ingredients Evohome supports?