Smoke Alarm - cable colours

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by diy_dude, 11 Apr 2007.

  1. diy_dude

    diy_dude

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can I have some clarification on which colour cores to use when wiring in my mains smoke alarms? They have an interconnect wire (white).

    The manual states:
    Line - Red or Brown
    Neutral - Black or Blue
    Interconnect - Black

    Now, I don't have two black cores in my 3+E cable, which one should be using the grey?

    Should I use:
    Live - Brown
    Neutral - Black
    Interconnect - Grey

    I am not quite comfortable with this as Brown is a new cable colour and Black is the old neutral, I feel this is confusing two versions of the colour system.

    This leaves:
    Live - Brown
    Neutral - Grey
    Interconnect - Black

    This feels better to me, but is using grey for neutral OK?

    PS LABC notified.
     
  2. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,785
    Thanks Received:
    403
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    either is fine by BS7671 but grey as neutral is the convention the electromafia preffer. make sure you sleeve the neutral blue.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. C&GStudent

    C&GStudent

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't we need to sleeve the interconnect brown?
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,882
    Thanks Received:
    2,181
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only necessary to sleeve if it is carrying mains voltage - I rather think the interconnect will be a low voltage telemetary signal. I stand ready to be corrected by alarming people :)

    TTC
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. diy_dude

    diy_dude

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dont know the exact voltage, but the Interconnect is not mains voltage.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page