SMPS

DP

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Any of you repair pcbs and switch mode power supplies using oscilloscope and other means?

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
I use different tools everytime, whatever meter comes in front of me I use it.
Multimeter is the mainstay for voltage measurements but how do you check the waveforms
Do you use isolating transformer?

Multimeter is the mainstay for voltage measurements but how do you check the waveforms
Oscilloscope. Mostly used for checking IC drive signals (in my case)
Always. (Well, most of the times yes. ) The isolation transformer is there to protect you just as much as your scope. It doesn't make working on mains voltage equipment entirely safe, but it does help significantly.

• Thanks
Reactions: DP
What test leads do you use
I am new to SMPS. Understand the concept, aware of dangers.
Have been faultfinding for some 50 years. Electronic electrical, mechanical, gas boilers etc

but how do you check the waveforms
Beware, if you are testing your SMPS using an isolation transformer and a scope - when you connect up the probe ground on a traditional scope, you will lose isolation - the circuit won't be floating anymore, as the scope references to earth.
There are some interesting scope meters appearing on Amazon etc. some for less than £100 (one is on my Christmas list!). Being battery powered, you wouldn't lose isolation.
Personally, I haven't used an isolation transformer for troubleshooting, but most of the problems I've found, could be discovered with the circuit dead - i.e. the usual suspects: caps, resistors, diodes, MOSFETs, etc.

• Thanks
Personally, I haven't used an isolation transformer for troubleshooting, but most of the problems I've found, could be discovered with the circuit dead - i.e. the usual suspects: caps, resistors, diodes, MOSFETs, etc.
Yeah that why I mentioned that my £7 multimeter normally finds the fault.

Don't forget to answer back on the stereo thread ;)

• Thanks