Soakaway for the street scuppering my extension

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi newbie here, apologies for my ignorance in advance!

I have got planning permission to build a wrapround extension to my property. It transpires that I have a main soakaway going through my plot that actually runs "under" the main foul drain. This soakaway apparently takes the excess water from the whole street, so it makes it almost impossible to build over it? If permitted, which the architects says will never happen, it would take so much money it would be like digging a basement to rerun the soakaway and would entail digging both my driveway and my neighbours, which as new clearly they would not agree to. I am told that due to the new laws passed that our water company have total control over this issue?

My questions are as follows:

1) Is this true? It is not in my title deeds and I find it odd that I cannot build on my own plot without asking the water company? I am not allowed a build over agreement apparently? There isnt even an inspection point where I want to build? Is this final?

2) Are there any ways around it?

3) Would SIPS system bypass the need for hefty foundations, negating the rerun of the drains?

All thoughts and comments much appreciated thank you.

Sponsored Links
Who says its a soakaway? Foul pipes laid on granular bedding quite normal, soakaways beneath foul or even surface water pipes not normal.

Who says its a soakaway? Foul pipes laid on granular bedding quite normal, soakaways beneath foul or even surface water pipes not normal.
We had a drain inspection, I’ll see if I can attach screenshot?

Attachments

• 0DD7B35A-9928-4E7E-B0F5-971E9F5C4833.png
    0DD7B35A-9928-4E7E-B0F5-971E9F5C4833.png
    606.1 KB · Views: 166
We had a drain inspection, I’ll see if I can attach screenshot?
The red lines in the above picture are the foul drains & the picture below the diagonal line is the soakaway that is supposed to service the whole road?

Sponsored Links