1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Socket suddenly drops voltage

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by mr rob, 15 Sep 2019.

  1. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The under unit led lights in our kitchen dimmed recently. The strips were not faulty and were tested elsewhere.
    Turns out the power at the junction box of this set is not 240v but around 133v

    what could have caused this, is there a fix?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    11,033
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With power isolated check all terminals and wires are tightened down properly.
    If it's still low then further investigation is necessary.
     
  4. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah opened the junction box and rescrewed all terminals. its the white circular junction box that feeds the lights.
     
  5. EddieM

    EddieM

    Joined:
    15 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Thanks Received:
    306
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wired in series perhaps ?
     
  6. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,606
    Thanks Received:
    1,299
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen this where some one has mistaken a switched line for a neutral so either run in series or off. And where the other lamp was a large one it seemed to work, changing other lamp and then large volt drop, so question is have you swapped a tungsten bulb for a LED at the same time as this happened?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nothing was changed, no led strips swapped out, no wiring. these were led strips powered direct from mains.
     
  9. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,376
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where did you measure 133 volts
    Personally i would measure
    L To E
    L To N
    N to E
     
  10. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,313
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where does this junction box get it's supply from?
     
  11. mr rob

    mr rob

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    turns out was the switch - has fused with dust or something
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    330
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If the switched had been "fused" it would have been "fused together" (i.e. Short circuited)
    However, it may have been "clogged with dust", and hence, partially "open circuit", especially to a low current load.

    No doubt, by now you will have cleaned the switch contacts concerned
    with a suitable "electrical" cleaning spray or
    by removing the switch and washing with methylated spirit (denatured alcohol) and then reinstalling it or
    you will have replaced the switch concerned.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page