Sockets in New Plaster Advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

We’ve just finished having our house plastered and the plasterer left all the sockets hanging out in a misguided attempt at being helpful.

Some of the plastering goes over the screw holes so I’m guessing needs to be cut(?) back to show the screws and the socket holes are also filled with plaster.

Clearly I’m new to DIY so I’m looking for some best practice advice of how to make sure the sockets can be screwed back in without damaging the new plaster.

P.S I will turn the sockets off at the fuse board when doing!!

Thanks in advance View attachment 300958

Attachments

• AA7013FF-B65F-46FD-BB03-D7AF476F0275.jpeg
    AA7013FF-B65F-46FD-BB03-D7AF476F0275.jpeg
    165.4 KB · Views: 61
Sponsored Links
If you have a lot of threads that are full of plaster, a tool like this can help restore the threads:

He should've turned that circuit off, remove the sockets and tape over the boxes.
This would've made his life a lot easier and given a better finish, but hey...
Now, if the plaster is still fresh, you can use a wet cloth to dampen the plaster in the screw holes and use a sacrificial screw to clean the thread by screwing it in each hole.
Or you can buy the tool posted by RandomGrinch.

Just for amusement as the op question has been answered
I turned power off to remove lights on job prior to skim. Turned power back on and nothing. Customer went for me as said I was not qualified to touch. God she went mad! so I got out house and sat in van to think.
Could not work out what went wrong so banged on neighbours door to ask If electric was on. No they said. Power cut in area.
FFS!
Came back on half hour later..

Had another job where I turned off electric to plaster around a socket similar to above. Safety first.
Fuse box would not turn back on and kept tripping out. Long story short it was the dishwasher fused spur melted from loose wire and nothing to do with me. Oh the joys of it.