Solar panel for garden log cabin

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone recommend the correct size and power for a roof mounted solar panel for our log cabin please and Where's best to buy from?

We have a southwest facing garden and get a lot of the sun in the afternoon, we'd be running a 2.5kw electric radiator in the winter, lights, laptops for office and also my guitar and amp setup...

The cabin is currently connected to the mains electricity so we have power there for inclement weather as a backup

Thanks

Sponsored Links
You may need to manage your expectations :)
I'm not an expert and others will provide far better answers, but in winter the solar output may be 20% of the summer output, and your panels may already be non-optimally positioned if they are southwest facing.
A cost/benefit analysis may give you a definitive answer!

Sponsored Links
A solar panel to charge a battery so you have lights, OK, but 2.5 kW an inverter cheapest is around £150 mark, the battery would need around 240 Ah at 12 volt so another £150 and the MPPT controller another £50 so looking at least £400 without any grid tie and not added cost of panels, which quick look around £2500.

The batteries if lead acid will going by narrow boats, last around 2 years, theory says 10 years, but bitter experience says 2 years.

So if looking at £3000 how long before it pays back? The only reason narrow boats use solar panels is there is no option to use a hook up. And in the main they use oil heaters to keep warm, the 12 volt only runs the pump and fans, heat comes from oil.

I would go onto a narrow boat forum as ask, they use them all the time, plus wind chargers, so they are the people to ask.

The batteries if lead acid will going by narrow boats, last around 2 years, theory says 10 years, but bitter experience says 2 years.