Solid floor level / screed problem.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
4 months into ownership of 85 year old house with 45 year old flat roof single story extension. Builders start tomorrow and I have pulled up the maple wood flooring we want to try and reuse from the extension to find a solid concrete floor with inlaid battons to which the flooring was directly fixed.

The battons in the extension are sound but will be removed as a completely new orangery structure with underfloor is being built. The house battons are completely wrotten and the bitumen type felt that was laid between the concrete and maple has perished. I assume this is some kind of DPC??

My dilemma and I have no prior experience is what to do now. As the new structure is built over the next few weeks I'll have to decide on a finished floor level but what do I do about the house?? Put a levelling compound down after filling in where the rotten battens are with concrete?? What about a DPC.

Left high and dry by the wife who has abandoned me to get the house ready and deal with builders as well as going to work.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Its difficult for me to understand what exists and what you are proposing?
Could you take pics of the work so far and any relevant areas and post them on here?

I'm puzzled too.
You would typically leave a proposed floor down low enough (50-75mm or so) in order to be able to fix a suitable thickness batten and whatever thickness finished flooring.
A lot will depend upon how you intend fixing the decor floor and whether it is your intention to have the decor floor at FFL or whether it will sit higher i.e. at carpet/tile height etc.

If, for example, a customer wants an oak finished floor, we would deck the floor out as normal i.e. fit joists, lay floor boards, then fix the decor oak after all plastering has been completed. This oak decor floor is then sitting at carpet/tile level.