Some advice needed please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, got a problem as usual.. installed a firebird enviromax combi 6 months ago been running fine customer happy as larry - till today. Got black smoke coming from the boiler she say's oh dear say's me. I asked if she'd had a delivery recently yes last week. I checked the tank for the usual suspects - ok checked pump pressure, oil flow changed the nozzle checked the flue for blockage no all ok. I know it will have to be cleaned out now but will it continue to smoke till it's cleaned out or am I missing something, I'm quite new to oil and everyday seems to throw up new challenges I've not come across this before oh and yes I set it all up correctly when it was installed I have all the gear to do it, but still learning just how difficult this work can be and not as easy as it seems..........

Sponsored Links
Full clean out.

It will be a real mess if it is sooted up. Dust pan and brush job.
If the boiler keeps running currently it will eventually choke itself
as the soot will block up the baffles.

Replace nozzle and run the boiler. See how it starts running if
it is still chucking soot out. Measure oil pressure to make
sure that is set correctly.

Give it 15-30 minutes of running to clear some of the remaining soot
out and then set it up again.

You might want to try one of these soot buster things. Haven't tried
one yet. They are supposed to clean out the combustion chamber of soot.

Have you checked they put the right grade of oil in the tank.

Sponsored Links
No that is a concern of mine I thought if I took some "good" oil with me and run it up on that for a while and see what happens, other than that I don't know how to check the oil quality - seems funny how its run 6 months then get a delivery last week then soot.

Check the delivery ticket for starters.

The oil supplier can check the oil if need be.