Some queries RE the regs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm refurbishing the downstairs of a 3-bed property and had a couple of electricains round to look at getting the electrics finished (and my work certificated).

My day job is as an electronic engineer who has to apply all sorts of exotic BS standards to my designs so I've got the basics - but at the sametime I certainly don't know everything.

So here's my queries from the first two sparks.

1) I should not of used screw down terminals mounted to the 1st floor joist, for the downstairs lighting clusters. These should be loose fitted and removable for maintenance

(I used these as the light fittings are quite sizeable (160 x 400) which to me seems like enough space to access the terminals if needed - I've positioned them for access throguh the cut out.)

2) I can't install a socket 2/3 way up the wall (for a TV) as it must be at an accessible height.

3) My shed supply must be SWA from the consumer unit (not a nearby, internal isolator as I intended)

4) My grid switches (kitchen) can not be wired onto a dedicated 2.5mm ring final incorporating a switched outlet for the fridge and a fused spur for the boiler. Instead 20A radials are needed.

5) My induction hob isolator should be 400mm from the edge of the hob - it's going to be about 250mm

6) I should not of used 1mm T&E for the 1-10v dimming circuits.

7) My light switches must be moved down to 1200mm AFL

Cheers guys,

Sponsored Links
1) I should not of used screw down terminals mounted to the 1st floor joist, for the downstairs lighting clusters. These should be loose fitted and removable for maintenance
If they are accessible for inspection that is fine.

(I used these as the light fittings are quite sizeable (160 x 400) which to me seems like enough space to access the terminals if needed - I've positioned them for access throguh the cut out.)
That's alright, then.