Split load consumer unit wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, thanks for looking in.

I have some knowledge of electrics, including wiring my car workshop 25 years ago, but I'm not upto date with all the latest rules, regs and methods.

I have recently had the house original fused CSU replaced with a Wylex 17th edition 10 way split load CSU of my choosing.The board is in an integral garage.

This is how it has been wired, numbered from the right (nearest the garage door) to left:

MAIN SWITCH

_ _ RCB

1. 40A Spare

2. 16A Hall front power socket (telephone) Garage front power socket, Garage door power.
These are all additions and are wired radially.

3. 6A Door bell, Outside lights (front), Garage light

4. 6A Downstairs lighting + landing

5. 6A Upstairs lighting

_ _ RCB

6. 32A Power Sockets: Hall, Lounge, all upstairs

7. 32A Dining room socket north wall
Cloakroom spur outlet
Kitchen sockets
Water heater

8. 32A Cooker

9. 16A Garage power sockets

10. 32A Spare

I consider the idea of a split load unit so that if an RCB trips you don't lose all power or all lighting.

I think # 5 mcb should be moved to position 10, # 7 to pos. 2, whilst (now having a free space at pos. 5) #s 2 - 4 all physically move one place left. (this keeps the 40a spare closest to the incomer). Finally # 10 to pos. 7 (you could then swap # 7 & 8 positions if you wanted to be fussy)

I realise it takes a bit of thinking to follow it through without a diagram.

Would appreciate your comments. Am I right with my thinking?

Sponsored Links
Yea lights / sockets should really be split so they don't all go at once if the RCD trips

One way of doing it is lights up / sockets down & lights down sockets up on different RCD's

Seeing as your socket circuits are not traditional i.e. up/down/kitchen front/back/kitchen then it's up to you how you want to split them

I would get the spark that changed the CU to come back and correct this for you

Thanks Iggifer, that's what I thought.