Spray Painting MDF (QuestionsCompressor, Gun, Paint

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There,
I am a newbie when it comes to painting, I had experience of painting Car Body Filler on resin before with decent results and using aerosol spray primer and paint, but I was thinking about moving to a compressor this time.

I need to paint 5 boxes (about 1.5mt x 50cm x 10cm each) for an artwork I am preparing; they will have to be painted Black, Matte.
The MDF will be sealed with PVC glue and water and then levelled with some car body filler.

My questions are:
- As I cannot use 2pack (don't have a respirator nor a big garage where to spray or extractor), what type of paint should I use? And where should I buy it from?

- Will I be able to spray primer and paint with a compressor, such as this one i.e.?
Quality Portable V-Twin Pump Compressor, Sealey SAC5030VE (50 Litre, 3hp, 11.6cfm Displacement)
would this be enough for this type of job or should I buy a smaller/bigger one?

- Gun.... any suggestion?

Despite I would like this job to be made nicely, I don't plan to use the compressor too often in the future, or to go pro, hence I should go for a smaller?

I am also considering doing everything with aerosols, it's just that I feel it'd be much easier with the compressor.

What do you think?

Many thanks in advance for your help and time

Best

Elso

:)

Sponsored Links
Whatever you do, don't seal the wood with glue (I assume you mean PVA?) if you ever want paint to stick to it.

Thanks, I was thinking about using MDF primer twice to seal the edges. Would that work?

Sponsored Links
I've done some mdf free floating shelves and on my second mdf bathroom cabinet (wel set of cabinets) ..as you say, the biggest issue is the edges or anywhere where you open the face of the panel.