Stacking out tiles before fixing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is my first attempt at roofing.

Noticed roofers stack out tiles on a roof in a particular pattern, before fixing. Is there a standard way this stacking is done?

I have large format concrete tiles. Planned to stack 4 max, and only where a rafter gives support underneath - sound ok?

Also, what spacing should I leave between/around each stack of tiles?

There are 10 tiles per square metre.

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
...started with stacking out this morning, five in a pile located over rafters. Not much fun.

The tiles are specc'd to be laid from right to left. However, where verge is on the left and a valley on the right hand side of the roof plane, do I just do left to right instead? Or should I string a vertical line down from the ridge, ending at the base of the valley, allowing a square section of tiles to be laid right to left, then return to the valley area to infill?

Depending upon tile there is no reason why you cant go left to right just a little more tricky.
Usually though the roof would be set out and lines struck top to bottom so you know where you are going to end up.
This also allows you to keep tile lines straight.
As for loading, generally 4s 6s or even 12s depending on tile. 5 is an odd number so not ideal have not the time to explain the setting out of tile loads tonight. enough to say you should be tiling right to left so you'll pick up a tile and lay it to the right of the load (stack) extra loads at the end where you finish.. Ps in your case if you go left to right then load it to suit.

Depending upon tile there is no reason why you cant go left to right just a little more tricky.
Usually though the roof would be set out and lines struck top to bottom so you know where you are going to end up.
This also allows you to keep tile lines straight.