Stihl BR 400 started to struggle and died after running fine

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was given a BR 400 which had been well used but ran even after storage (with fuel!) for 2 years by a retired gardener.

Last winter it stopped running and I took it to an approved Stihl dealer for a service. Since then it's been used only a handful of times and has started impeccably.

Now I have deja vu, just as the leaves are falling this happens...

It starts cold, on idle after 2 pulls as normal and I use it for perhaps 20min happily. Then I hear it start to struggle a bit, lower revs and a bit uneven. I find that reducing the throttle a little helps, but a minute later the same. Over about 5 minutes this went round and round until all it would do is idle or struggle terribly - then it died. I restarted it easily but even on idle you could hear it slowing like a dying grandma until it stopped.

I am an engine noob with some basic knowledge but am guessing it's either related to air or fuel. Since it was serviced I've been using the Stihl pre-mixed non-ethanol fuel to avoid problems!

I have tools, are there any easy steps/tests I can do to see if it's an easy fix for losing it right when I need it (again)? Do the symptoms I describe suggest a particular problem?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
The first thing to do is to check the air filter.....if that is clean then I'd venture inside the carburettor.
However as this machine must have done a fair bit of work by now, I'd arm myself with a diaphragm / gasket set (two of each) and a can of aerosol carb cleaner before starting.
One diaphragm pumps the fuel to the carb (as there is no float chamber, but there is a needle valve) and the other is a metering diaphragm. Both have a gasket stuck to them which must be in the correct place, so do look for that.
For spares, either visit a Stihl dealer or look for the C1Q number on the side of the carb...differences in the carburettors are subtle.