Stone Wall Re-pointing Questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I need to get my front wall repointed as it's getting quite bad after this winter.

I'm a complete building novice though, and previously would have paid someone else to do this, but can't afford to, so have a few questions.

1. What type of mortar/cement would you recommend? I'd ideally want something that's pretty easy to mix. Would I need something lime-based given the type of wall (see pics below).

2. How much of the existing mortar would you recommend taking out? I'm loathed to take too much out in case the whole thing falls down!

3. Any other general tips/help before starting something like this? Anyone know any guides/videos to help me.

Thanks very much,
Larry.

CIMG6915.JPG

CIMG6916.JPG

CIMG6917.JPG

Sponsored Links
Firstly don't rush it, its not like you're getting paid to do a job, just keep Mrs LarryN sweet is your main problem.

Just do a few square feet at a time, depending on the muck they used before will effect how the old stuff comes out, I would start off with a pointing chisel and a few other small chisels and a small lump hammer, another tool I've found useful is an electric drill and preferably old drill bits, I would try for at least an inch or more deep, the wider the beds op perps the deeper to go, I would use pit sand or Holm sand 4:1 mix not to wet with a bit of plasticiser in the water, and a larger in the other hand.

Hi Pred,

Thanks for the reply. When I said building novice, I should have clarified that with "assume you're dealing with an idiot".

I'm not sure I get you with your "the wider the beds op perps the deeper to go".

Is pit sand/holm sand available at somewhere like Wickes? A quick scan of their website and it's not obvious.

On the 4:1, that's 4 part sand, 1 cement and then just add water until it's a good consitency?

Thanks again.

Hi Pred,