Strange activation reported by neighbour but nothing in log.

Joined
5 Jul 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
I have an Accenta G4 and whilst out shopping for a short while and with the alarm not set the alarm apparently activated.

My neighbour only told me 3 days later so I looked in the logs and there is record of an activation.

I remember that I had some issues with the bellhouse tamper when I first installed it several years ago now in that the tamper switch itself didn't make a great contact onto the brickwork but this I rectified by lengthening the spring slightly to push the plunger against the wall with a little bit more force.

I have never had a problem with the system other than this and looking back though all of the logs I still see the 'Tamper loop' errors in the log from when I fitted the bellbox.

Would a log entry be created even if the error then cleared itself (i.e. an intermittent fault)?

I'm at a loss since I only have my neighbours word to go on (and he can be away with the fairies at times!) and nothing to indicate there's been an issue on the system, but I can't just leave it as it is in case there is an issue.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Joined
5 Jul 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Given that the bellboxes are not water tight and therefore that well protected from the elements do they go wrong often due to weather conditions i.e. cold rain etc?
 
Joined
16 Feb 2011
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,442
Location
Sheffield
Country
United Kingdom
depends on bell box, some are better than others and where the bell box is sited.
 
Joined
5 Jul 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
If I were to open the accenta panel, remove the 2x tamper wires for the bellbox and temporarily join them together, then add a link on the pcb board (where i'd just removed the wires from) between the 2x tamper connection would that disable the tamper for the bellbox?

This way I could get to the top of the ladder and then once removed the cover the alarm would not go into full activation on tamper.

???
 
Joined
16 Feb 2011
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,442
Location
Sheffield
Country
United Kingdom
no ..... one is a 0v feed for your bell box as soon as you take it out the bell will ring ( if installed correct in the first place ), if it was the tamper on the bell it should indicate at the panel. but ive had the bell ring due to 12+ missing ( not the 0v) and not indicated a tamper as the tamper return is 0v
 
Joined
5 Jul 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
no ..... one is a 0v feed for your bell box as soon as you take it out the bell will ring ( if installed correct in the first place ), if it was the tamper on the bell it should indicate at the panel. but ive had the bell ring due to 12+ missing ( not the 0v) and not indicated a tamper as the tamper return is 0v

Thanks for the reply, so can I not therefore isolate the bellbox tamper at the panel first?
 
Joined
16 Feb 2011
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,442
Location
Sheffield
Country
United Kingdom
you can isolate it at panel but its not going to stop the bell ringing when you take off the cover ( as before if installed correct )
 
Joined
5 Jul 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
you can isolate it at panel but its not going to stop the bell ringing when you take off the cover ( as before if installed correct )

Yes of course, I'd forgotten the bellbox has its own battery backup.

Is there a way to provide power for the battery backup other than from within the bellbox itself?

Since I do not have any concrete information to go on, and my only guess is that it could be related to the tamper for the wall fixing of the bellbox backplate (not the tamper for the front cover) although why this should just create a fault out of the blue having not done so before or since I can't say, is there a way to link that out?
 
Joined
16 Feb 2011
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,442
Location
Sheffield
Country
United Kingdom
just for a start. I don't know if the bell is installed correct, if it is taking off the front cover should cause a tamper at the panel and ring the bell. first check this and while the cover is off check for any signs of water ingress ( hold in tamper switch while you do this) .
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top