Structural Question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm building a reasonably large extension for someone at the moment and wondered if someone could offer an opinion.

We have a door (900) situated next to a window (1800) so the structural opening is naturally (2700) with a panel of block/brickwork coming up under the window.

The Engineer forgot to specify anything for this opening and naturally I thought that 2.7m was OK for a heavy duty catnic type lintel. However, thought i'd check with him, and true to form he's gone steel crazy and said we have to use UB's and install a wind post on the end of the blockwork nib up under the steel.

I'm only a builder but thought this all seemed way over the top.

The loading above (apologise for the lack of technicality), is 2 skins of thermalite blockwork, with a slate hanging tile detail to the external elevation. A traditional cut roof on top.

If you need any more info let me know.

Thoughts appreciated.

Sponsored Links
A lintel is fine. The load is negligible in the scheme of things.

Lets just wait for someone to shout "WIND LOADS"

The engineer is over specifying to cover his own backside, but what can you do in real terms? Get another engineer, ask the engineer to provide calcs for checking? Probably nothing

But it is the poor client who ends up paying for it all

If the brickwork returns at each end are minimal, watch out for WIND LOADS!!!!

Thanks Guys.

Certainly very good at one end, and the other end where the window is the panel is c2.2 but the return up the side of the window is only 550 wide but this is for only675mm

Do we really need a wind post - i've never done this before?!

Sponsored Links
Do we really need a wind post - i've never done this before?!

I look at it this way ... how many windposts were used/specified in this type of work 10/20/30/40 years ago? How many older buildings have fallen down because of lack of windposts?