Taking up a couple of floor tiles - is it a pain?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Absolute beginner here.

Recently moved in, and the dishwasher is knackered. That's one thing I can fix, but I need to get it from under the worktop (it's intrgrated).

The floor tiles are almost an inch off the level of the concrete which the dishwasher is sitting on.

The way I see it, either the worktop comes off (PitA as it has the sink in it) or some tiles come up to let me slide it out.

Any other ideas? I know the feet on the dishwasher are height-adjustable but can't for the life of me work out how I'd make use of them as-is.

So I'm thinking I cut the couple of tiles out which are in front of it, slide it out, fix it, then re-lay the tiles (got spares in the shed if I mess it up).

What would you do - am I complicating matters needlessly?

Cheers
Matt

Attachments

• 20171106_185634.jpg
    20171106_185634.jpg
    296.6 KB · Views: 126
Sponsored Links
I'd try lifting the worktop first (front edge), an inch is a lot of concrete/ adhesive to knock out..

If you can get to the feet at the front, then try screwing them up into the dishwasher, and see if it starts to drop and come lose. The problem that you've got, is that as you start to pull it out, it may catch and bind on the worktop before you can get at the back legs, so you may then need to see if you can release the worktop to get it out.

Now if this works, then I'd put the spare tiles under the unit so that the dishwasher then goes back in at the right height for any future maintenance.

If you look up the make and model of the dishwasher you should be able to find a manual online that will tell you how the feet adjust.
Could be that the white bit in your picture does the back ones? (or even possibly the front ones)

Sponsored Links
Hi all, sorry for slow response and thanks for all the replies.