tel. master socket and broadband

mnb

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i have a telephone master socket with a broadband splitter plugged in:the splitter is taking broadband and a landline phone.
1. is there some device whereby i can also plug in a "junction box" for tel extensions? Or do i have to start connecting inside the master socket?
2. can i perhaps use a cordless phone with this set-up?
3. there is also a round, black coloured old fashioned looking ringer next to the master socket, it's cable is not connected to the master socket - is this ringer irrelevant or a potential difficulty?

Sponsored Links
Plug-in ADSL filters / splitters are only designed to supply ringing current to one telephone, so adding 'plug-in' extension wiring after the filter might stop your phones from ringing.

A replacement ADSL filter like the one Lectrician linked to is the most satisfactory way of doing the job. Installation is quite straightforward. Those filters will support 'plug-in' extension wiring. Connecting wiring directly to the extension wiring terminals is also straightforward, and, for my money, a tidier looking job.

If you fit a 'plug-in extension kit' before your filter, you will also need a second plug-in filter at your extension socket, and the extra wiring may reduce the available ADSL speed.

I recently tidied up an installation with multiple extension sockets and plug-in filters, replacing them with a single NTE5 adaptor, and the ADSL speed leapt from about 1.8 Meg to over 7 Meg.

thanks both of you guys. For your prompt and expert replies.Food for thought.

Where do cordless phones fit into my present ser-up? Can they?

Sponsored Links
bigger version of what was recomended
314437190_tp.gif

phone in phone socket router in the other
extension wiring goes onto the numbered connectors on the back, 2 and 5 from memory
hard wired filtered broadband is on AB if you want to extend it from the master (not needed if router is next to master)