1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Temporarily cap Electricity socket cables

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jupiter01, 18 Sep 2020.

  1. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am in the process of fitting a new kitchen and need to temporarily disconnect some sockets. I wanted to use Junction Boxes for this. The Breaker for these sockets is 32Amp but I can only find these things at Toolstation going up to 30Amp.


    upload_2020-9-18_10-53-58.png

    Excuse the naivety of the question, but would it be okay to use these?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3,254
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those are what were traditionally used for ring main connections, so should be absolutely fine. I assume it is a ring main circuit feeding the sockets?
     
    Last edited: 18 Sep 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes for ring mains feeding sockets
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,543
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why use whole junction boxes if it’s temporary. Use Wago connectors and pop them in the back box. Cover over if the plasterer/ tiler are about.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Risteard

    Risteard

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    2,034
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Derry, Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    They always need to be enclosed, regardless of who is about.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,259
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem is you must not brake the ring final, I can understand the idea of a bit of 2.5 mm² flex across the kitchen while sockets are repositioned, but would think a 20 amp MCB/RCBO temporary fitted in the consumer unit would be a better option. To two radials until kitchen complete.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was going to retain the ring circuit by connecting both sets of cable in each junction box.
    There will be a temporary break when I reposition sockets but I will switch the power off during this work
     
  10. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,543
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you start, test the ring to make sure you have continuity. Do the same after you have finished adding/moving sockets.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page