Testing the Economy 7 supply

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I fix boilers for a living, and although I'm a gas bod I'm getting more and more calls these days to Economy 7-powered thermal-store water heaters.

I currently have one that fails to heat up overnight, and I'm mystified. I've checked over-all continuity by taking the cover off the consumer unit and measuring the resistance across the (night-time) live rail into the circuit-breaker and neutral, and found about 18 Ohms, which seems about right. This indicates to me that continuity is fine. There is aso a night storage heater that appears to heat up correctly overnight. (I was testing with this isolated! With it connected, the result is about 9 Ohms.)

BUT the thermal-store hot water cylinder doesn't heat up overnight. Not possible, but that's what happens, grrrr... Any suggestions anybody?

Is there any device or sensor I can attach to the E7 supply and to the input terminals of the thermal store that will record whether the E7 power came on during the night? These are elderly customers in sheltered accommodation and I won't be welcome there testing between midnight and 7.00 in the morning (as if!)

All advice most welcome.

Cheers, Mike

Sponsored Links
element goosed?
local fuse? (FCU?)

If the heater heats ok during the night, then you know E7 is working. I'd go for a burnt out element and/or blown fuse at the boiler.

crafty1289 said:
element goosed?
local fuse? (FCU?)

If the heater heats ok during the night, then you know E7 is working. I'd go for a burnt out element and/or blown fuse at the boiler.

If there is continuity of about 18 ohms then the element sounds ok and if tested from the CU then the fuse also sounds ok (fcu not normally fitted to immersion)

Is the stat faulty/set too low.This would allow continuity in the daytime when tested but break circuit when powered up and water starts to heat up but not enough to notice the heat in the morning