1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Texecom flasher interface worth buying?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by JayDiy, 22 Aug 2017.

  1. JayDiy

    JayDiy

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just curious is it worth flashing texecom premier elite 24 with latest version, what's the advantages? It's about 8 years old no problems so far. It's fully wired system not richochet at mo.
     
  2. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,678
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure it's an elite ? Does it have the switch mode (black box psu ) ?
     
  3. JayDiy

    JayDiy

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm 95% sure it's elite I'll check when I get home, re black box? I'm lost. If it helps it's the poly not metal, re psu it's not external if that's what you mean?
     
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,678
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Press menu then 4 on your keypad....what does it say ?
     
  5. JayDiy

    JayDiy

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It says elite 24, SW V2. 08
     
  6. DIWhat

    DIWhat

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd look at it in a slightly different way...
    Why do you think you need to flash it? Does a new firmware offer any features you want to make use of?

    Have a look here if you want to find out more about what the latest firmware offers:
    http://www.texe.com/uk/news/
     
  7. JayDiy

    JayDiy

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I'm looking at adding wireless devices which I believe will need latest software,cheers
     
  8. mattice

    mattice

    Joined:
    5 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice to see texecom moving onwards. Looking forward to flashing more projects :)
     
  9. DIWhat

    DIWhat

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you've answered your own question. ;)
    You'll need a USB cable as well as the flashing interface.
     
  10. davelcfc

    davelcfc

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just bought the two cables myself. My panel is only 2 years old but looking to update to V4 firmware as mine has been plagued with COM errors. I'll let you know how i get on.
     
  11. JayDiy

    JayDiy

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok davelcfc please do, am still considering update
     
  12. davelcfc

    davelcfc

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I flashed my panel at the weekend from v2.1 to V4. The actual flash process was relatively easy. Though the steps afterwards caused me a bit of grief for a DIYer. Connection from wintex via my comwifi module is now very hit and miss and i can no longer use the IOS app. I ran out of time, but i think it's down to the new encryption. Texecom do advise to do a factory reset after the upgrade which i didn't do (due to time) so perhaps i'll try this later this evening.

    The main reason for me upgrading was for compatibility with the new miniature contact sensors.
     
  13. JayDiy

    JayDiy

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well that's interesting, you would think after the update everything should run more reliably, hopefully after reset it might, but I think texecom need to work harder and provide swifter updates. I'm still considering flashing but no rush at mo.
     
  14. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,038
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    firstly should follow manufacturers instructions, they are not there for fun.

    flashing up and defaulting the panel with wireless will create its own issues, you may find that if you didn't back up the config with radio devices that you have to learn them all back on and re do commissioning mode, always wise to recomission and check devices after a flash upgrade.

    my biggest concern is updates of wireless expanders takes please when new devices are added and you may find that if the wireless expanders are not uptodate that new wireless devices don't work so well.
     
  15. Caesium

    Caesium

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Upgraded mine to v4 as I use the Wintex application via COMIP and wanted to stay current, plus I use the ios app so thought it might iron out some of the COM bugs. It seems more stable now for sure.
     
Loading...

Share This Page