1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Texecom PIR EOL confirmation

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by drec, 2 Nov 2020.

  1. drec

    drec

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all, as you may be aware from my other posts, I've been upgrading an old G3 alarm system using the installed wiring but all new components and have installing a Texecom Premier Elite 24 using Texecom Premier Elite Compact PIRs (and some other stuff). This post is specific to the PIRs.

    The good news is that the system is working. I've wired it double pole (because that is basically how the old system was wired and the two PIR zones (3 PIRs per zone) have a global tamper using the Aux/Tamp and it all works. The PIRs are programmed as 'normally closed' as is, of course by default, the Aux/Tamp circuit. It's all tested, alarms when expected, shows tamper when I pop off a PIR cover, etc. so I'm happy and *could* leave it all working.

    However, I'm retired, we are in lock down (in Wales) and it's raining (it's Wales) so I'm sorely tempted to rewire the PIR circuits using an EOL approach which is the approach recommended by by the professionals. I've been reading up on this an my understanding is as follows:

    Each PIR zone forms a single loop and only two terminals (1 & 4 in the image below) are used. The zone wire leaves the control panel terminal, comes into terminal 1 of PIR 1 and then out of terminal 4 to the next PIR terminal 1 and so on until the end of the line when the wire exiting terminal 4 on the final PIR goes back into the remaining zone terminal on the control panel. This is then programmed as EOL/Double Pole.

    The circuit is completed between terminals 1 & 2 by a 4K7 resistor and between 2 & 3 by a 2K2 resistor and between 3 & 4 by the nature of the lid being on and therefore the tamper circuit being closed. So far, hopefully, so good.

    pir.png

    I understand that these PIRs have inbuilt resistors which I believe to be the jumpers on the left numbered 5 & 6 above. With 5 being the alarm and 6 being tamper. However, try as I might, I've been unable to understand why there are four sets of jumpers (A, B, C & D) per set.

    I think (from viewing pictures of other installations) that set A are the correct values (i.e. 4K7 for alarm & 2K2 for tamper). However, if that is correct, I fail to understand why B, C & D are provided. What is the point of them?

    I've failed to find this information either in the manual or online.

    Any guidance gratefully received.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. pcaouolte

    pcaouolte

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The answer is in the manual for the PIRs.
    A, B, C & D provide different resistance values to make the PIRs compatible with alarm panels from various manufacturers.
    A = 4k7 Alarm & 2k2 Tamper which is correct for Texecom
    B= 1k Alarm & 1k Tamper
    C= 6k8 Alarm & 4k7 Tamper
    D= 5k6 Alarm & 5k6 Tamper
    As you are using a Texecom panel you want the jumper in position A for both alarm and tamper.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. drec

    drec

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @pcaouolte Many thanks. My PIRs came without manuals and I've clearly been unable to find the correct manuals online. Much appreciate your input.
     
  5. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,808
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The new capture pir's should make it easier.

    texecom have the manuals on there website and Texecom Pro app, although supposed to be an installer to have access
     
  6. drec

    drec

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @secureiam I did apply to join the Texecom support forum as a 'hobbyist' but haven't heard anything :(
     
  7. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,808
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure who is approving accounts on there, but they will probably do approvals in batches.
    I am currently not on that forum after I recently deleted my account.

    The forum itself isn't the way to get manuals as such, all the manuals that are on the Texecom website can usually be found be a google search in any respect.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page