The coat-rack nightmare of 2014

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, first post here.

Before I begin, it is important to note I have VERY little DIY/experience.

We have been having a nightmare with a coat rack that has recently fallen down. I have tried the following:

1: Screws into plastic rawlplugs (basic) x 3
2: Screws into metal rawlplugs (as seen here:
$T2eC16J,!)QE9s3HEEZrBRMQsKRR2g~~60_12.JPG
) I am using the correct drill bit but please see access problem below

Both times the hanger (with 3 fixings) has come down due to weight (not excessive)

- Some factors about the house (and the real problems). It is a traditional Bristol terrace house built around the turn of the century.
- The wall material is unclear: whilst drilling a dirty dark grey dust comes out and the hole generally expands wider than the drill bit.
- Most importantly, due to a stairway that heads to the attic, I am unable to fit our drill at a straight angle as there is not enough space.. This has caused real problems. The stair way is angled like this:

The red arrow is where I wish to place the hanger but I can only get the drill in at an angle due to the location of the stairs.

This is causing great frustration. Does any have any suggestions regarding the following:

1: Am I using the correct fitting?
2: How can I make a better angled hole?
3: What is the material?
4: General tips for making the hanger work!

Many, many thanks. I am at my wit's end!

Sponsored Links
Assuming that you mean the start of the 20th century ;), the walls are more likely than not to be of plaster and lath construction. As such they will be old and friable and although I don't like to disagree with foxhole (sorry :oops: ), I'd be worried about gluing it in place.

Ideally, you need to find where the vertical studs are and then screw into these, possibly using a longer piece of timber screwed into two adjacent ones and then screwing your coathooks into this.