Thermal store?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. I am a newbie self builder trying to specify a heating/ hot water system with woodburning boiler stove, solar thermal panels (Velux) to run UFH (90 sq m) and provide for 3 bed home , 2 showers and bath.
I have had conflicting advice regarding material type for the 300ltr thermal store with two reputable heating suppliers swearing that the best type is stainless steel for durability or copper for efficiency.?? HELP

Sponsored Links
I've fitted both go for the one that gives the longest warranty on the cylinder itself. to be honest not really had a problem with either.

Just found on some models the integral top up tank on top of the store loses heat through inadequate insulation.

Forget the wood burning stove.

Messy and you'll soon get bored filling it with wood and lighting
it. Cleaning it out. Lighting it again.

Suggest air source heat pump. Solar thermal panels for hot water maybe
although I still think it is unlikely they would ever pay for themselves.

Go for lots and lots of insulation. Passive building I remember seeing on
grand designs required very little heat to keep warm.

You could consider air con. If you insulation enough there wouldn't be
any need for the underfloor heating at all.

reputable heating suppliers swearing that the best type is stainless steel for durability or copper for efficiency.
I would be interested to know how they define "efficiency" in this context.

Sponsored Links
Forget the wood burning stove.

Messy and you'll soon get bored filling it with wood and lighting
it. Cleaning it out. Lighting it again.
Wood burning stoves are great, and if you're a bit of a skip monkey you'll never be short of stuff to burn. Best thing I ever did in my house.

Surely the efficiency of the thermal store has much more to do with how much insulation it's got round it rather than the material used to construct it?