thermostatic valve question??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm an English plumber and I work in France. I have noticed that in the UK thermostatic valves are placed at the bottom of radiators in a vertical postion. In France that is considered to be bad workmanship and they are placed horizontally at the top of the radiators!!

Placing a thermostatic valve vertically, apparently, is not as efficient as one placed horizontally - or so they say!!!

So my question is: :?:

in the UK are the thermostatic valved 'designed' to be vertical or is there no real difference??

And why put the valve at bottom of the radiator???

Hope it makes sense!!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Most bidirectional TRVs can be mounted either horiz or vert on either bottom inlet or outlet.

bidirectional?? So they are designed to be placed either horiz or vert?? What are the advantages of putting them at the bottom of the radiator??

bidirectional refers to flow through them. Not all are bidirectional but some of these can be placed vert on flow or horiz on return depending on tail type.

Sponsored Links
I find that the instructions are useful.. :LOL: :LOL: Manufactures will have tested or designed for an application. Yes they may well work, but there are always prefered methods.

I think the reason that we do not put the trv's at the tops of our radiators in the Uk is that 99.9% of rads that we buy (are sold) are made to be valved at the bottom and bled at the top................... :LOL: :?: :LOL:

I noticed just this morning the French configuration you are used to in Royal Mail Collection Office, Burdett Road, London, must have had a french Plumber....... :LOL:

:D :cool: :D :cool: :D

well it wouldn`t have been BG.they couldn`t fit anything French :rolleyes: TBOE tappings is usual on old one pipe commercial stuff like PO`s :rolleyes:

Thanks guys - some really interesting replies.