This old wall needs a fillin'

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have this old stone wall that needs a little attention in the odd bit. Structurally it looks okay. I'm going to have a got at tidying up the pointing.

Should I be using a lime mortar? I'm no expert by any means, should I be looking at NHL 3.5 hydrated lime? possibly a 3:1 ratio with builders sand?

What kind of stone would you say I need to fill in the odd hole which is fairly big for mortar alone?

Thanks in advance

2020-04-14 19.28.44.jpg 2020-04-14 19.28.33.jpg

Sponsored Links
There is no need to add lime other than fattening up the mix. I'd be inclined to use a builders sand with a rich cement/lime mix but with a wee bit of sharp sand, just to deal with the larger pointing gaps. It'll help with any shrinkage. Not too much as you'll find it difficult to work with. Hose the wall down then let it dry a little before pointing.

Thanks for the reply. If it's not too much bother can you suggest a ratio of each material please?

Sponsored Links
We have this old stone wall that needs a little attention in the odd bit. Structurally it looks okay. I'm going to have a got at tidying up the pointing.

Should I be using a lime mortar? I'm no expert by any means, should I be looking at NHL 3.5 hydrated lime? possibly a 3:1 ratio with builders sand?

What kind of stone would you say I need to fill in the odd hole which is fairly big for mortar alone?

Thanks in advance

View attachment 188926 View attachment 188927
My utterly amateur response, and speaking from my experience is that yes, your original idea is the kind of mix I would use to repair an old stone wall outside: NHL 3.5 HYDRAULIC lime with a 3:1 ratio (ie; 3 sand to 1 lime) I'd be tempted to go towards 4:1 and include some sharp sand.
(There's no need to use cement unless it's difficult to get hold of hydraulic lime).
Having said that - if cement is what I had, or what I could more easily get hold of, then that's what I'd use.