Thoughts please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So...we moved into a new house in the summer which needed a fair bit of work doing to it. I'm a mature student so had the summer off to crack on. Also had plenty of assistance from more qualified family members.

Still a few bits and pieces to do but we're really happy with most of it, apart from the Ikea kitchen. There's a new tiled floor down but we chose terrible light grey tiles and grout which is impossible to keep clean, the grout lines are far too wide at 1cm and as the sub floor wasn't levelled the tiles aren't particularly flat. We were under time pressure and made bad choices. They look naff and it definitely bothers me.

Now it looks like we've got some warping of one of the mdf worktops. Lol.

Now this is what I'm thinking.... I've got the summer off again. Is it realistic for me to take the kitchen units and worktops out, take up the tiles, level the floor, put down new floor tiles, reinstall kitchen units and get a pro in to fit some new solid wood worktops and refit the hob and sink?

I did the metro wall tiles which look great so I would want to leave those untouched where possible. Have also since laid 2 tile floors which came out well. Including the hallway with the slate tiles I would be laying.

The tiles run into a bamboo floor (open kitchen diner) so I need to be able to do all that including level the floor without damaging this.

I will add that I didnt fit the kitchen units originally so this would be new to me but I can't see it being too much of an issue.

So is this realistic and worth the effort? I suppose I'm looking for reassurance as the missus is unsure. We'll be living in the house for at least the next 5 years and this summer would be the last time I have all that free time....

Any thoughts/advice appreciated!

Sponsored Links