1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Three core cable becomes four core in Spain.

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by Griff99, 3 Mar 2020.

  1. Griff99

    Griff99

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    I've had to buy a new under worktop cooker and hob for my apartment in Spain. The oven door failed and I had to buy a new hob as well as an oven as the controls for the hob were on the oven facia.
    The hob had a wiring loom that plugged into the oven and the oven then had a wire that plugged into a special three pin socket on the wall behind the oven. It is not your usual socket but a heavy duty one wired up to a the consumer unit marked oven and hob or "Cocino Horno" in Spanish.
    The new Electrolux hob and oven have their own separate cables and visiting the local electrical store the staff advised me to do away with the socket and connect the two appliances by using a large block of terminal strip.
    My problem is that my hob has not just the usual three core wire, brown, blue and yellow and green but a fourth wire coloured black. What should I do with this one? (polite answers only please).
    PS The previous installers of the oven and hob were the delivery drivers who obviously were not health and safety minded as the didn't bother putting the back on the special plug that is designed for the cooker connection as it took up too much space being the cooker for it to fit properly into the cavity. If the firm hadn't gone bust in the 2006 crash I would have been in to complain......



    Read more: https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/three-core-cable-now-becomes-four-core.540205/#ixzz6Fbm0ytFQ
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,649
    Thanks Received:
    2,274
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Griff99

    Griff99

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks for that Bernard, you've confirmed my thoughts that it is an additional live cable, bearing in mind that I am connecting up the two units to a large block of terminal strip and putting the two brown live cables into one hole, are you recommending that I put the black cable into the same hole or should I head back to the electricians store to buy another piece of kit.
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,649
    Thanks Received:
    2,274
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Provided that you do have a single phase supply then yes connect the two Browns and the Black together.

    As long as one of the pins is Earth then it is a single phase supply. There was once ( and may still be ) a type of three pin socket that had Neutral and two Phases on the pins with the Earth as a contact on the side of the plug.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Griff99

    Griff99

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    Bernard,Thanks I will give it a go!
     
  8. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    403
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If this equipment is "new", do you not have a circuit diagram for this equipment?
    If you have the Model Number, it should be possible to locate the diagram on the WWW.
     
  9. Griff99

    Griff99

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    Bernard’s solution has proved correct. Given that it is a live wire it is the only place that logically it can go. Thanks again Bernard.
     
  10. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,259
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know on main land Europe some homes have a split phase supply, and some supplies have limits as to what you can draw on each phase, with a lot lower fuses than used in UK, and some smart meters as set to raise the charges if you exceed the limits. Many cookers are designed for split phase supply, but beyond that can't really help, as where I worked we had our own generators.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page