1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Tidy way to bring 4x network cables through external wall?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Donkmeister, 2 Dec 2018.

  1. Donkmeister

    Donkmeister

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    1,023
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm going to be installing a CCTV system for my FIL soon. The cameras are PoE units, so I need to run 4 Cat5 cables through an external wall.

    My plan is to drill a 14 mm hole through the (cavity) wall, with a weatherproof box on the outside for cable exit via glands. I'll seal the box onto the wall with silicone, and also fill the 14mm hole with silicone around the Cat5 cables.

    However, for the inside I'm a bit stumped... the obvious solution is to fit a surface box and glands, but is there a tidier way to have multiple cables coming through the wall in the same place?

    (To avoid blowout I will of course drill a smaller hole through the wall and then use a 14mm bit from the outside on the exterior skin, and from the inside on the interior skin.)
     
  2. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,185
    Thanks Received:
    1,772
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flush metal box with a brush plate on the front.
    Or a plastic blank plate with the lower edge cut out so the cables exit flat against the wall. If you want a metal plate, get a plastic spacer frame, cut the bottom part out and put that behind a metal blank plate.
    Perhaps a cooker outlet plate with the terminals inside removed.

    A 14mm hole seems extremely small for 4 cables.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,745
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just fit a 4 port cat5e socket into a flush metal box and use patch leads.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,872
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would use brushes, LAP grid range from screwfix do a brush single socket size, I have aerial and dish cables enter living room with one, agree sockets are a better job, but then you need double socket size. I cut plaster and mounted surface box on brick and re-plastered up to it, saved cutting brick.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. SimonH2

    SimonH2

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    5,663
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just an FYI - you can fit 4off Cat5e network cables through 20mm conduit. Cat6 should also fit but it'll be a bit tighter. Some ticker ones might be problematic. You do need to keep then "in formation" as allowing them to switch places (ie, cross over themselves) increases the overall size and they jam.
    So on the outside, you could consider a 20mm conduit box (an end box, the one with just one side entry) and have the four cables just exit downwards. A short bit of conduit through the wall and a bush into the back of the box will avoid problems with the cables snagging in the cavity - as well as strictly speaking being a requirement for the wiring regs ;)
    Inside, I'd agree with the brush plate it nicking out the bottom edge of a blank plate suggestions. We used brush plates at a mates house - and before there were cables in them, he was able to persuade a few visitors that they were "foot ticklers", demonstrating how you can put your toes into the double ones :mrgreen:
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page