Tiled enclosure round electric stove

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys

I have done a nice bit of DIY on my house, painting / ceiling lights etc but have always used a tradesman for tiling and timber floors

However i have a stove area in my living room where we have an electric stove .At the moment its just a plastered area with limestone on the bottom. I want to tile the floor using tiles i already have (i reckon a couple of tiles will suffice) and then i want to put one of these on top

Heat Design - Staggered Oyster Slate Chamber.

I have zero tiling experience and knowledge but i do know this is a tiny job and would be difficult to even get a tiler to do so i want to try myself. I have a good few tiles so can make mistakes

1. How do i begin :)
2. I presume i will have to remove the cream timber lip around the outside
3. I put the tiles down first and the chamber down on top or do i put chamber in first and then tile up to it ?
4. Stove area is standard size but if its out a little bit, i will have to cut the chamber ?
5. should i put full tiles at outside of area and if i have to cut then put them ones at the back ?

I would really appreciate any help you can give me here. If this jobs is tricky then please just say get a tradesman but i am fairly handy and i reckon this is easy??

Attachments

• stove.jpg
    stove.jpg
    107 KB · Views: 126
Sponsored Links
If the photo is of your present set-up then it wont fly for a solid fuel burner.
FWIW: why not look back over my recent posts on this subject? Or any other posts.

You should have an on-site consultation with a HETAS before going any further - you should also window shop for a burner to give the HETAS an idea of what you want.

Sponsored Links
We are staying with the electric stove - just looking for a hearth / chamber

DIYnot Local

Staff member