tiling a bathroom... help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi, ive got a bathroom to tile, and was after some advice. The walls are straightforward, but the floors are wooden floorboards. I was wondering what preperation i need, i.e plywood thicknes and how to apply it. Also, do i put anything onto the ply before tiling, like sealants? or do i just tile straight onto the tile? also the tiles are porcelain, and someone told me i should seal them before grouting?? anybody know if this is true? any advice would be welcome, oh and hello to everyone, im a total newbie to the site...many thanks, jimmyk07

Sponsored Links
You have three choices;
1. Overboard with minimum 12mm WBP ply; seal the back & edges with an acrylic primer before laying. Make sure the floorboard are well secured, use additional screws where necessary (check for pipes & cables) Position joints so they are supported along the centre line of a joist, fix with screws not nails every 150mm through into the joists not just into the top of the floorboards, again check for pipes & cables.

2. Alternatively you can use a waterproof tile backer board as long as the floorboards are in good condition & there is not movement or flex in the floor.

3. Replace the floor with 18-25mm WBP ply, thickness depends on size/pitch/span of your joists; this is usually my preferred option as you know exactly where you stand & it reduces large steps at the door threshold.

It depends what type of porcelain tiles you have; some require no sealing at all some need sealing before laying & again before grouting & some come pre-sealed; check with your supplier. If in doubt a water test will tell you; put a blob of water on the tile, leave for ½ minute & wipe off, if it leaves a mark the tiles need sealing. Do not prime any tile surface unless your chosen adhesive manufacturer recommends it.