Time frame of laying parquet

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm planning on laying block parquet in about 35sqm but have no idea how long this will take once I've cleaned the blocks (they're reclamied) and prepped the floor (concrete). I think I'll use the non-bitumin adhesive as suggested by Wood-You-Like and the blocks aren't T&G.

The 35sqm is spread between 2 rooms and a small hallway (all on ground level). Any advice on how much time I should put aside, bearing in mind I'm a novice, would be appreciated. As I'm a complete beginner to this and to make it logistically easier I was thinking of not trying to do all 3 rooms in one go, is this practical?

Also, do all parquet floors need a border of blocks around the circumference of the room?

Last question, how do I check the concrete floor is level enough for the parquet before I start laying them?

It sounds like cleaning the bitumin off the blocks before I start will be a big job in itself! Thanks very much for any advice.

Sponsored Links
alice11 said:
The 35sqm is spread between 2 rooms and a small hallway (all on ground level). Any advice on how much time I should put aside, bearing in mind I'm a novice, would be appreciated. As I'm a complete beginner to this and to make it logistically easier I was thinking of not trying to do all 3 rooms in one go, is this practical?
Very practical indeed. Depending on the pattern you want to lay it's mostly easier to install the rooms as separate rooms. In doorways you can make a feature of a small border to accentuate the patterns in the rooms even more.
Professionals don't install more than an average of 8 - 10 sq m a day (that's an average calculated including the sanding and finishing of the floor!)

alice11 said:
Also, do all parquet floors need a border of blocks around the circumference of the room?