Timer for Vaillant ecoTEC Pro

Joined
13 Nov 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Middlesex
Country
United Kingdom
I'd like to replace my clockwork timer with a more sophisticated 2-channel 7-day timeSWITCH 140. The plumber who installed the boiler said that the timer is basically "plug-and-play" so I have just received my new timer and it does look as though it should be quite straight forward. A few clips on the side and 5 long pins on the back to locate inside the boiler. I just wondered if anyone could offer any hints or tips before I start trying to pull the old timer out of my boiler?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
19 Oct 2006
Messages
792
Reaction score
6
Location
Cardiff
Country
United Kingdom
Just be careful with the pins on the back when pushing the new one in
 
Joined
13 Nov 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Middlesex
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, they are long and look easily broken. In fact the first unit I received had one of its pins rattling around in the box so had to go back!

Do you have any tips on removing the current timer? I presume I don't need to remove the front of the boiler? It looks like the units plug in and out of the front of the boiler as it is. Is that correct? Is it just a case of pulling the old timer straight out horizontally? The new timer has some markings on the two top corners that almost looks like it clips in at the top first and then hinges down? But with those long pins I thinks it's more likely to push horizontally in.

Thanks again..
 
Joined
19 Oct 2006
Messages
792
Reaction score
6
Location
Cardiff
Country
United Kingdom
just insert a small screwdriver in the side to lever it out then pull easy as that.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
13 Nov 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Middlesex
Country
United Kingdom
I got side-tracked last night and haven't had time yet. I'll let you know how I get on - thanks.
 
Joined
13 Nov 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Middlesex
Country
United Kingdom
Done and dusted. Couldn't have been easier! Thanks again.

Any suggestions what I could do with the old timeSWITCH 130? I think they cost around £40 new so might be worth putting on ebay?
 
Sponsored Links
Top