Tiny house renovation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am in the process of buying a tiny, 1 bed terrace house. I have had lots of stress thinking about it. Completion on the purchase is 2 weeks away. I have been dithering about buying it or not. Pulling out or not. 4 months since offer accepted and many delays due to searches and slow solicitors!

Why am i dithering about buying it? Because of its narrow size. But, my daughter and ex think it will be cosy when renovated and cheap when it comes to bills.

I am a cash buyer and surveyor noted that these tiny houses can be problematic when selling as banks dont usually give mortgages on them!?

The property was built around 1900.

Front door opens into living room.

I am aiming to completely renovate the house if i stay the course and complete.

New windows and doors. Especially a new, draught free front door as no room outside for a porch or inside for a hallway. I guess a good quality composite will be needed?

New kitchen, which is narrow and tiny.

New bathroom

New flooring throughout.

New rendering at the front.

New decorating

Not sure if i should get the micro bore replaced for 15mm. Plus, maybe a new boiler too.

Going to open up fireplace and install a wood / multi fuel burner.

Electrics too may need some work. Not much though as was rewired several years ago.

New ridge tiles needed.

Some work in the garden too (fencing etc).

Most of the work i will get done. Age(58) and back issues stopping me from getting stuck in myself.

I am nervous about buying such a tiny house! Neighbours very close either side! Yikes! Obviously walls are quite thick.

Any advice welcome........be it about materials or small house living!

Pic of house. Its the narrow one in the middle! Lol

Lumii_20220507_024555995.jpg

Sponsored Links
Think I understand some of your nervousness, Out of curiosity, How wide is the lounge?