To cap or not to cap!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

The more I read sometimes the more confused I get!
Some advocate capping and some not. I am a noob Diyer and have chased out the walls for a couple of new sockets (extedning ring with 2.5mm) trying to get safe zones correct etc. I am going to have to run the cable horizontaly around a corner obviously this is within the 150mm on the corner so I need to make sure its 50mm deep. This is not proving easy but would you recommend using a metal conduit for the corner here?

Fot a new DIY'er would you recommend the PVC conduit for my horizontal run and clip it to the wall? The other walls just have the wires plastered over.

What's going to be easier/best for someone in my situation?

Any links to recommended products for cap clips or corner trunking?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi,

The more I read sometimes the more confused I get!
Some advocate capping and some not. I am a noob Diyer and have chased out the walls for a couple of new sockets (extedning ring with 2.5mm) trying to get safe zones correct etc. I am going to have to run the cable horizontaly around a corner obviously this is within the 150mm on the corner so I need to make sure its 50mm deep. This is not proving easy but would you recommend using a metal conduit for the corner here?

Fot a new DIY'er would you recommend the PVC conduit for my horizontal run and clip it to the wall? The other walls just have the wires plastered over.

What's going to be easier/best for someone in my situation?

Any links to recommended products for cap clips or corner trunking?

Thanks

Why do you need to make sure it's 50mm deep? The only reason for that would be if you don't have an RCD on the ring. It sounds like you've already started, so you may as well bury them under plaster. If you haven't, if cosmetically it's not a problem then run them in MT2 trunking.