To hell with Party Wall Act??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

We've been granted planning approval for a loft conversion and side extension on our semi bungalow. I'm a building contractor, registered electrician, Gas safe registered, G3, MCS, CHAS etc etc but to be honest I have never been too involved with planning permission and Party Wall matters, only with building control, architects, surveyors etc (I just build things! :))

It's been much more stressful than I thought despite being in the trade, as one of my neighbors was not happy with the height of the wall on single storey side extension. The neighbor is always polite but meanwhile her son who does not live there has been writing letters in an attempt to scupper our plans. He also has tried to get me to do their driveway for free if I kept the boundary wall 2.0m high which is ridiculous. Anyway the planning dept granted us permission and I've given building notice etc, I use a private BC inspector.

Now I was thinking the neighbor wouldn't be too happy and would want to be difficult, so I thought I'd better do things 'by the book' and give party wall notice and hope they ok it. I selected a local firm, who's prices seemed cheap. I signed the letter below to authorize proceedings:

"*I/We hereby appoint you as Building Owner’s Surveyor, should a dispute arise, in accordance with the Party Wall etc. Act 1996 in relation to the works proposed at 4 Roseleigh Close, Maidenhead, SL6 5AJ.

*I/We authorise you to sign, issue, serve, receive and respond to all notices under the Party Wall Etc Act 1996 (“the Act”) relating to the works proposed, although the initial notice has been served on our behalf prior to this appointment. *I/We further authorise you to make all requests and appointments under the Act on our behalf, which may be necessary to expedite the progress of the matter.