Tracking Cookies

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This website constantly uploads said cookies to my computer, and my Ad Aware advises me constantly to get rid. I am not a computer expert and do not really understand these advertising devices. Should I be worried?

Sponsored Links
I know most people dislike this type of cookie intensely because of privacy issues. I don't worry about them too much personally. Basically, they are to do with advertising. The cookie contains information about what ads to present to you that might encourage you to buy something. The ads you see might reflect your interests based on the sites you visit. Cookies kind of 'talk to each other', so your Internet movements are known to advertisers and are therefore 'tracked'.

Webmasters often need revenue from ads in order to keep afloat, or perhaps even just to make a bit of money out of their venture. Advertising and the associated tracking cookies could be a necessary thing for them. Some sites might not allow you to log in unless all cookies are enabled.