Trianco 12/14 TRO Monoflame not firing.....!!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone! Im a complete newbie to the world of plumbing and oil burners apart from spending a lot of money getting my one fixed over the years.
I have a trianco tro 12/14 boiler that wont fire. I thought we had run out of oil ( I knew it was getting low but I have been busy rebuilding a stone wall!!) so without looking in the tank I ordered some more and had it filled. Problem is it still will not fire :(
It was firing but then would lock out after about 30 seconds. Now its not firing at all - Just a 'click' sound which I think sounds like its trying to ignite the fuel.
I have bled the system from the small hexagonal bleed valve on the pump and also checked the filter at both the tank end and in the pump, both are clean. I have also pulled out what I believe to be the photocell and it was clean.
Could anyone give me any advice on what to try next? I feel like Im at a point where I shouldnt touch anything else on it in fear of messing something up but its annoying the poo out of me!! :evil:

Sponsored Links
Do you think you DID run out of oil?? If so do you think you opened the right hez nut on the oil pump?? As my old journeyman would say; a liittle knowledge is a dangerous thing!!

Best to get a qualified time-served guy in to have a look at it.

Thanks for the reply Dick Puller (!!!)

I am not sure it was 100% empty in the tank, but I had checked a week or so back and it was getting 'low'. My mrs feels the cold so it wouldnt suprise me if it had been run dry. It was foolish of me not to check before I had it refilled - lesson learnt!
The 'hez' nut has a small outlet hole and after I had loosened it and run the system, oil squirted out thick and fast so I tightened it quickly as it was running.
I agree that a little knowledge is dangerous but I wondered if there was anything fairly straight forward that a novice could try before getting out a service guy?